vuralter.blogg.se

Starsiege tribes download mouse not working in menu
Starsiege tribes download mouse not working in menu









But for a kid who didn't really have access to the internet or BBSes at the time, floppy disks and whatever got packed in with PC magazines were the only real options. You could walk out with something like Commander Keen or Doom for three bucks? Of course, joke was on us: shareware games are supposed to be free. They had a whole wall covered in bare floppy disks with shareware games loaded on them, and they were cheap. I have a distinct memory of my mom driving me to the local A-Plus so I could buy Descent 2 when it came out.īut the place where I got a lot of legit games was, weirdly enough, the local video rental store. Most of these places were in malls, but some were standalone stores in office parks and whatnot. Some of their names have been lost to time for me, but places like Electronics Boutique (which became EBGames and was later bought by Gamestop), Compucentre and A-Plus are what I remember. In Canada there were several chains, some of which also sold console games. Your typical readme.txt is larger than the code to that game.Ībsolutely. Randomized dungeons with map uncovered, and loot to find and equip :) Pretty rad on 4k or whatever it was lol. Oh, one of the carts I got for the Atari was Gateway to Apshai, which was a super early variant of what would become Diablo. I think RA can be experienced with a newer online version. Someone mentioned Red Alert and Heroes of Might and Magic 2 and 3. Thexder was an early one that was hard as balls but fun.

starsiege tribes download mouse not working in menu

Unfortunately without a drive to save them, I had to type them every time with no way to keep them after all that work, you don't know how good you have it! This was on a Mylar keyboard that was iffy at best.įinally got an 800XL and 1050 floppy, and later built a weird DOS PC from random nonsense when I was 9. This taught me Basic, and I started modifying the code to make different games. Found magazines at the store with games in them! Not on disks but in basic code :) So I would type them in after kindergarten and run them. We had one 13" black and white TV and an Atari 400 with no floppy or tape drive. Started with 'computer' gaming in 1982 at 5 years old.











Starsiege tribes download mouse not working in menu